Are You Stressed, Depressed, or Both?

24 Dec

It is the last month of the year and stress is at an all time high. Considering the fact, December is usually associated with various holidays such as, Hanukkah, Christmas, and Kwanzaa. Gift giving is very common for all three holidays. Gift giving tends to be more popular amongst young adults and children of all ages but it is the parents who tend to feel stressed and some depressed around this “joyous” time of year. For some reason if last holiday season was greater than the season before, then it is safe to say that your children may be expecting yet another spectacular holiday? What happens if you can’t provide those spectacular things that your children may be anticipating this year? What if you’re a parent to a child who just does not realize that you are struggling this year and you can’t even provide the one “main” gift they are looking to receive this holiday season? What if you have no children and Christmas means the world to your partner but you just got laid off from your job and you are completely stressed out because you just spent about $700 on some earrings she wanted? Do you decide to return them or do you decide to pay your rent/mortgage and hope she understands? What if you have no one to celebrate any of these holidays with? You are just tired of walking around grocery stores, department stores, whatever store it may be, and seeing all the holiday decorations because it reminds you of how much it meant to your mother for the family to come together during the holiday season. Sadly, she is no longer here to take part in that holiday gathering so you are just depressed because you miss her presence.

Many allow themselves to add this negative stress to their existing stress and for what? You already knew that you were not going to be able to provide the gifts you may have wanted to provide to your children yet you choose to max out every credit card, take loans out of your 401k’s, go get pay day loans, borrow from Peter to pay Paul to then pay for gifts that can go unappreciated. All of this stress, because your holiday no longer has its true genuine meaning, and it is all about receiving and giving gifts? You give your partner those $700 earrings that she just so happened to buy for herself because she didn’t think you were going to spend that kind of money on her, and then she proceeds to ask if you can buy the matching bracelet instead. You knew you should have returned them in the first place and you still have not decided how you will pay your rent/mortgage in the next 6 days. You stay home for the next week with the same daily routine: wake up, shower, drive to work, eat lunch, and drive home, shower, and watch television with a blank stare until you fall asleep. Where are your other meals? Where is your social life? You are so stressed and depressed that those things no longer exist since your mother/father has passed on.

You can be one of those people who are not affected in your pockets and provide the best holiday season for your children, spouses, partners, and friends. Yet, you can be stressed at work. Your boss is a psychopath and nags you to death all day long. You have worked around the clock non-stop and have one day off a week. You have had continuous arguments at home with your partner/spouse because you have no time for the family. Your children are showing signs of stress because of this. You feel horrible but your career is finally starting to sky rocket and you are reaching your goals. Ironically the stress at work has not affected your performance but it has affected your obligations to your family. Do you care enough to realize that your family is being affected by your actions? Do you consider your long hard working hours as a form of love?

There can be various occurrences that can cause stress such as the few I have described in the previous paragraphs. However, there is chronic stress such as work, financial stress, and stress at home. What is stressful to me may be a walk in the park for you and vice versa. You have to know yourself well enough to be able to control your stress levels. If you are unable to do so this can cause you to be depressed.

I urge any and everyone who is currently suffering from depression to take this seriously and go get help. Depression is a mental disease that can drive you to do some crazy things. If you won’t do it for yourself, do it for the people in your life. You are valuable to someone. Here is a letter I wrote to stress or depression. Be safe and enjoy this holiday season with your family. Don’t forget no New Year’s Resolutions….it is all about Happy New Day’s not a Happy New Year!

 

 

 Dear Stress or Depression,

Thank you for always waking me up in the middle of the night.

Thank you for allowing me to go be prosperous in the world yet, you gave me two weeks of constant attention and challenged me to get my biggest project at work done.

Thank you for allowing me to stay at home all alone crying my eyes out, while the kids go out and play.

Thank you for reminding me that I have no further means to provide for myself let alone my family.

Thank you for reminding of this disease that plagues me 24 hours of the day.

Thank you for showing me that no one cares that I exist.

Thank you for allowing me to go on in the world and be as merry as can be and sit at home letting my thoughts crucify me.

Thank you for making me feel like an outsider to all of my friends.

Thank you for changing my life forever when my mother died.

Thank you for allowing me to question every thought I think of next.

Thank you for motivating me to be better.

Thank you for allowing me to lie in bed staring at the wall.

Thank you for being so loyal and never forgetting to kiss me on the head at night.

Above all… thank you for constantly reminding me that I have no purpose.

Always your friend,

Am I stressed or depressed?

************** 

Again, I urge any and everyone who is currently suffering from depression to take this seriously and go get help. Depression is a mental disease that can drive you to do some crazy things. If you won’t do it for yourself, do it for the people in your life. You are valuable to someone.

 

Nadie*

3 Responses to “Are You Stressed, Depressed, or Both?”

  1. Haas December 24, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

    WOW YOUR THE SHISH….THIS IS NEEDED…ALOT OF PARENTS NEED TO CHECK THIS OUT. ALOT OF CHILDREN WHO CAN COMPREHEND TO A CERTAIN EXTENT NEED TO CHECK THIS OUT…BUT HOW DO YOU TELL A CHILD I CANT PROVIDE A GIFT? SAD…I KNOW IN MY DAY, I WOULDVE BEEN TERRIBLY UPSET. TAKE HEED…AND S/O TO ALL THE PARENTS/GUARDIANS WHO WORK HARD/SMART IN ORDER TO PROVIDE FOR THE GOOD OF THE HOLIDAYS!!! HAPPY HOLIDAYS WHICHEVER FLOATS YOUR BOAT. PEACE/SUCCESS TO ALL…..AND S/O TO THE DOPEST BLOG SITE!!! NADIA!!!

  2. Supawumyn December 24, 2010 at 9:14 pm #

    Nadie this is funny because I started writing a journal again and that was my topic. At this point, right here, right now as I’m responding to your blog I’m suffering from a deep depression. I take medication for it and other mental things that I deal with but sometimes when loneliness sets in it’s hard not to become depressed no matter what you do. Yes during this time of year many put stress on themselves because of “tradition” but once that day comes and goes you will have to still deal with other issues that you put off for the past 30 days. The title of your blog “Are you Stressed, Depressed or Both” is a very heavy topic but it’s a good one to think about. Today I thought about how I no longer have a family surrounding, today I thought about how my friends have their own families and they spend time together, especially on the weekends, today I thought about what could I have done differently to prevent what I’m dealing with. But then I think that family support would have been a great thing but that’s “A DAY LATE, A DOLLAR SHORT”

    I do appreciate you blogging and sharing things with friends and family. It also encouraged me again as I said early to start right again. I even started writing a book about my life which I hope to have it published one day. I believe the information I’m putting in it will be an inspiration for many young girls who dealt with things in their past and the impact it has in the future – I look at it as a book of awareness. Thanks Again!! Love Ya.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Are You Stressed, Depressed, or Both? « Lil Lady… Giant Brain | Product Reviews - December 24, 2010

    […] this article: Are You Stressed, Depressed, or Both? « Lil Lady… Giant Brain Share Latest News gift, giving, giving-tends, mental-disease, parents, some-crazy, […]

Comment

