Cyber Monday Shopping Tips

26 Nov

We know that the Monday after Black Friday is one of the biggest shopping days of the year on the web. However, there are a few things you should lookout for and keep in mind when shopping on this amazing day! It is convenient to do from work and it saves you money on gas!!

1. Try to stick to big name stores and sites when shopping on Monday such as Amazon.com, Walmart.com, Bestbuy.com, RetailMeNot.com, etc.

2. Phishing Schemes!!! Be sure to avoid all those flashy ads especially if you are shopping from your PC. These ads are not always legit, just because you see “get 65% off an iPad2” don’t believe the hype use common sense!

3. Credit Cards are your best friend during the holiday season. Do not use your debit card because you are better protected especially when it comes to fraud and being held accountable for the charges if your number gets stolen.

4. Make sure you pay attention to the security of the site you are using. Some sites such as banking websites have https: or a lock in the web address bar yet others like BestBuy don’t. Again back to point #1 they are a notable site so use caution when making purchases on smaller sites. Use other avenues for payment such as PayPal or One-Click if you frequently shop on Amazon. Pay attention to security at all times!

5. Make sure the item you are buying is the item that you want. Please pay attention to your shopping cart every time you click that “Continue Shopping” button. Make sure you do not have double and triple quantities of an item in your cart. We tend to click on an item more than once not thinking it went to the shopping cart successfully. Make sure you check your cart because restocking fees can be excessive and so can return shipping fees.

6. Security!!! I am notorious for shopping on Amazon from my smartphone. Please make sure you have software on your phone to make sure you do not get any viruses on your PDA. Make sure you avoid purchasing any items using public WI-FI. I am not a fan of using public wi-fi because of virus threats. So please shop from a secure computer with a secure internet connection!

Pay off those credit cards now with the cash from your debit card so that you can be ready for Monday! You will be happier you did it if something went wrong! Happy Shopping!!

Nadia

9 Responses to “Cyber Monday Shopping Tips”

  1. felixvargas November 26, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

    Reblogged this on Entorno EVAPTIC: Entornos Virtuales de Aprendizaje.

  2. iamforchange November 27, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

    Very good advise thank you for sharing it! Good luck on your shopping adventures!

  3. camary1996 November 28, 2011 at 7:00 am #

    Very good tips…I hope a lot of people read them….thank you!

  4. Haas November 28, 2011 at 2:26 pm #

    Appreciate this….More so a cyber shopper especially after the past weekend….Went to two stores and that was enough….My bro and his girl…had their survival kit waiting to shop….ipad and wine…i thought that was hilarious…very informative post nonetheless

    • princessnadielala November 28, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

      OMG love the survival kit! I was just saying I need one for after the gym because I find myself not eating as quickly as I like when I get out of the gym! LOL at least they were warm!

  5. anayarivenwood November 29, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

    Good post! One other tip that I would give would be “If you really can’t afford it, you really don’t need it”. People tend to go overboard with spending at this time of year, then when the bills come in during January they realise it’s going to take all year to pay it off. Is it worth it?

    (And no, I’m not a Scrooge or tight-fisted) 🙂

    • princessnadielala November 29, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

      Thanks for reading! I used to be the Grinch, I just didn’t like Christmas. I just wanted to get the buying out of the way or wait till the very last day. I just did not care for no one’s holiday. But that is definitely a great tip! Lucky for me I don’t really have many people to buy for. Maybe 3-4 the most the rest is for me! I am a big shopper on the day after Christmas! I once purchased a winter coat for $30 that was $180 at Macy*s. The best sale ever! So that’s what I am waiting for!! LOL

  6. anayarivenwood November 30, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    lol. Can’t stand crowds so the heady days of the post-Christmas sales aren’t for me. I do most of my shopping online. This year most of the family will be getting one of my pictures. I mean, what do you get people who have all that they need.

    • princessnadielala December 1, 2011 at 5:01 pm #

      LOLOL you would never believe that I did the same thing one year!! A picture of me and a happy holidays inside of the card! LOL

Comment

