Are You Obsessed?

29 Nov

I was reading a fellow bloggers blog and it made me think of obsession. Sometimes being obsessed or infatuated with your mate can blind you. Often times at least one of the persons involved tend to get hurt. I just wanted to take the time out to list a few signs of what obsession is and what to look out for. There is typically three phases to a relationship: lust, infatuation, and love. Obsession is not listed on here. Therefore you should run!

According to Wiki obsessive love is “a state in which one person feels an overwhelming obsessive desire to possess another person toward whom they feel a strong sexual attraction, with an inability to accept failure or rejection.”

  • Jealousy to the point where you mate is calling you, emailing you, texting you all hours of the day checking up on you.
  • Stalking: Popping up at the job, popping up at random places when you know you didn’t inform him/her of your whereabouts.
  • Excessive gift giving: I mean after the first date type of gift giving, no matter if it is in the form of dinner, money, jewelry, flowers, you name it. If all of this is given in a short period of time this can no longer be considered an act of kindness it’s obsession.
  • Constant accusing of cheating.
  • Controlling your mate not being able to see friends or family because they want you to themselves.
  • The use of drugs, alcohol, food, or sex to “cure” emotional pain.
  • Strong feelings of mistrust which causes them to become depressed.
  • Violent outbursts when you annoy them easily.
  • Becoming in denial that the relationship has ended.
  • Suicide. If one is threatening suicide then that is where you should check out immediately.

Please take heed and do not allow yourself to go deeper into a relationship if you already notice some of the signs. You will find yourself doing the same exact things only to justify what is going on in your relationship. It is unhealthy and can end badly for both parties. Around this time of year we hear about all the love that is in the air but there are some who aren’t feeling the love.

Thanks for reading and thank you for all the new subbies and followers!

 Nadie

5 Responses to “Are You Obsessed?”

  1. iamforchange November 29, 2011 at 6:23 pm #

    A thought first a great post… I may have inspired and wonder why my transparency may lead to two perceptions. First that I would consider my self a Christian? And second that I may be obsessed? Because I consider Jesus my lord has never been mentioned although he is my inspiration so are Buddha, Confucius,Muhammad, and the various entities of Hinduism the latter of which spelled out the “Golden Rule” in various although almost exact terms well before Christ. The Karmic laws as well as many other verses and thoughts expressed in Eastern Philosophies are embraced in my heart as true. The fact that I choose to share my thoughts on two of the women that most effected my heart and soul are part of the inspiration for my transparency. I believe that being open and honest about my bad days is part of being human.Your post did make me pause and consider the thought of obsession. I think the point I was making was that of my having been with so many women and the thought that how many more before I find the one that is my Heavenly match. My post was one of agitation with the Universe for the amount of miss fortune I have experienced. Although I live a loving and kind life I have over come and persevered as well as grown and added depth to my being through those experiences.I am going to have to consider a way to better express that in a positive way. My hope that I would add a sense of it’s okay to have a bad day has given you and perhaps others a sense of something else. I wonder is it judgmental on the part of those or maybe I have chosen my words poorly. That goes to show you never know how you look through anther persons eyes.

    • princessnadielala November 29, 2011 at 11:10 pm #

      Iamforchange,

      I am not sure as to why you thought this post was directed toward you. I am bold enough to actually tag you into a post if it were a direct response toward your latest post. As far as me mentioning the fact that I appreciated your transparency, I was stating that it is hard to do such a thing. To be transparent with the world, if you will. Also without saying too many names, I was talking about a young lady who is being physically abused and asked for her followers advice. With that being said, you are correct no one knows what one is truly thinking especially if it is not laid out in black and white. The luxury of being a skilled writer is the fact that you can be saying one thing yet you really mean another. Don’t let my blog post persuade you to believe you are one thing when in fact you are another. If you feel that you were obsessive back when you were dating all those women who cares, I believe it’s safe to say that you are now a child of the Most High and he saved you. Your sins are washed away. He forgot them so now let go of them and forget them too. Don’t allow them to hold you down and keep you in bondage. It’s beautiful that you can write about your mistakes because not everyone realizes theirs. Try not to take what others write so personal. You have to remember that you are not the only person following their blog and there isn’t only one individual reading your blog. Thanks for reading and I hope you continue to grow bolding in your beliefs and continue to read my thoughts! God bless.

      • iamforchange November 29, 2011 at 11:49 pm #

        I owe you an apology and as I hit the post button I had realized just as you said perhaps your post was not directed at my post.Yes you are a very gifted writer and I am at times very much a sensitive person. You are correct that I should not have had that perception and in fact the post made me look within and say I was not obsessed. I was judgmental and should have just said that was a very informative post as it was and very Beautifully written. It should flatter you as it intrigues me that you have such an impact on my thoughts. You are quite gifted and I am sorry for my comment. I could not change it after I hit the button and well I hope you may find it in your beautiful heart to accept my apology and yes I will read your posts as they obviously touch my heart. Thank you and thanks for posting such insightful and informative posts!

      • princessnadielala December 1, 2011 at 5:04 pm #

        Apology accepted thanks for continuing to read!

  2. Haasflow November 30, 2011 at 9:03 am #

    Im the calm and cool type often I let dope chances and opportunities slip by….gotta be more aggressive but not obsessive. Hope she’ll be patient with me!!!!

Comment

