Trapped Inside a Box

29 Nov

Driving home from school on this dreary cold rainy evening I was comforted by the soulful sounds of Jill Scott. I must’ve heard this album hundreds of times yet today one verse stuck out and gave me an epiphany of what she could’ve possibly felt when she wrote the lyrics.

 “Why do do do I,I,I,I
Feel trapped inside a box when I just couldn’t fit
into it
Maybe I’ve been scared knowing what’s
there, In front of me maybe I been tryin to be
what they needed me to be
When I should of just been me”

I read these words and I can’t help but think how many people are trying to be something they are not? You want to be yourself but you know good and well that many people you are around probably wouldn’t really like that person or would have their opinions about your actions. You CHANGE, sometimes for better, sometimes for worst. All I know is if you want to have a good healthy relationship with anyone you change to keep that relationship healthy. In a union, you change some things that your partner may or may not like. You change to keep them happy. Sometimes people aren’t happy with the change they see because they want the “old” you to come back. But everyone knows in the beginning of any friendship you are being this polished individual. You are getting them to like and love you on your best behavior so when the REAL you emerges they already like and love you so whatev, who cares, right? I don’t know. I am just rambling but I just thought her feelings of being trapped inside of a box yet she couldn’t fit into it made me visualize a baby trying to fit inside of something small and it’s funny, except as an adult it’s uncomfortable. If we are who we really say we are in the beginning would those people in your circle still be by your side?

4 Responses to “Trapped Inside a Box”

  1. Haasflow November 30, 2011 at 8:50 am #

    I find this piece very interesting, especially pertaining to the times of today. This social media outlet that is advancing as we speak so to say, allows us all to go into this metamorphosis…some for great reasons and some for the worst. Its dope to see the characters people present to the world thru the networks. I honestly believe though to make this short…Being someone else, Like not being yourself is only killing who you really are SO BE YOU OR DIE. Idk if that makes sense but in my crazy world it applies.

    • princessnadielala December 1, 2011 at 5:04 pm #

      You hit the nail on the head Haasflow with the people pretending on social networks. It is so annoying the multiple status updates with their fakeness. But, I love that Jill Scott song!

  2. nitabrownsugah December 1, 2011 at 3:43 am #

    Mennn…. trying to be what you are not even for someone you love isn’t easy! It takes a lot of sacrifice and giving up of what you love doing which the other person doesn’t. Sometimes bad habits, sometimes not!
    Asking if they would still like us if they knew us as we really are. Well…. that’s hard to tell! I know some people i have liked for no just cause. I can’t place why. They’ve got their own habits and lifestyle. I also know people i won’t go there even with a 20 foot pipe just because they do something i don’t like. So, i can’t place it.

    • princessnadielala December 1, 2011 at 5:00 pm #

      Sacrifice isn’t the word! It really has a toll on your brain! I was reading 1 Timothy last night and I was reminded once again. Thanks for reading!

Comment

