1 in 2 people are poor in America

15 Dec

Very shocking to see actual numbers and stats. You never really know how bad it is and right now it’s bad.

http://mobile.boston.com/art/25//news/nation/washington/articles/2011/12/15/census_shows_1_in_2_people_are_poor_or_low_income?single=1

10 Responses to “1 in 2 people are poor in America”

  1. The Northern Plights December 15, 2011 at 5:22 am #

    2 in 2 Americans are American, it does not get much worse than that ,-)

    ~THe Dippylomat esq.

  2. worrywarts-guide-to-weight-sex-and-marriage December 15, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    My family took a trip around the country in 2004. I was shocked by the poverty throughout our country, especially in Ohio, Maryland, and South Dakota. It’s easy not to see until you are the one dealing with looking for a place to live or feeding your child.

  3. Christina Does It All December 15, 2011 at 7:50 pm #

    Ah. Awful! :/
    Love your blog though 🙂

  4. simon7banks December 18, 2011 at 6:28 am #

    There have long been great contrasts in America between riches and poverty. This wasa quite conspicuous to me when I visited the States before the crash, and I’m British: the gap between rich and poor, or even between prosperous and poor, is greater in Britain than almost anywhere else in western and central Europe. I lived in Finland for a while when it was a relatively poor country by European standards and someone showed me what was regarded as the dump area of Helsinki. It looked all right to me.

    On my one visit to America I was struck by how close poverty and prosperity could be in Tennessee – two communities maybe ten miles apart along a road. I was also struck by how different trailer or shack type communities could be one from the other. In South-east Georgia I stayed in a motel next to such a community – all Black, homes flying flags (often stars and stripes plus a Black flag I hadn’t seen before), homes recently painted, flowerpots outside well-maintained, people looking reasonably healthy and with some pride in their eyes. In Tennessee, several places with peeling paintwork, damage unrepaired, fat dull-eyed people (about half of them white, half of them Black) stumbling around looking listless.

    Poverty impoverishes all of us. But it’s worst for the poor people!

  5. fourbluehills December 21, 2011 at 3:49 am #

    Awesome, we think alike, I also posted this article. Everyone needs to know this to understand how widespread poverty has become, not only here but globally. It is truly alarming how high the rate has become.

    • princessnadielala December 21, 2011 at 3:55 am #

      Omg really! I get so many emails from Bloggers I always miss the ones I want to read and find out about then a week later. Smh. But yes, I know I’ve been watching 60 minutes a lot lately and they have opened my eyes to this. Then watching the Kardashians on Monday for their sisters Sweet 16 also made me think that the youngest ones are embarrassed by their wealth because there are so many people out there who are poor. It’s sad. I told this stat at a dinner on Sunday and there was five of us at the table. To think every other one of us could be poor was shocking and it puts a lot into perspective. Thanks for reading

      • fourbluehills December 21, 2011 at 4:11 am #

        Hey, you didn’t miss it! It is here! 🙂 I miss 60 Minutes, it is on while I sleep as I work at night. Have there been some good episodes? They usually have great news to talk about. I really like them, but it has been a while. It does put it into perspective. In a room of 100 people, 50 live at or beneath poverty. It could be anyone. Very sad. I enjoyed reading. Wish I could get here more often, like you I find posts a week later. 🙂

      • fourbluehills December 23, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

        Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

      • princessnadielala December 24, 2011 at 9:53 am #

        Thanks fourbluehills! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Comment

