For Better Or Not…

25 Dec

I remember having a conversation with an old friend about the rich sharing their riches with their ex spouses once divorced. They sided strongly with the rich saying “if they were an athlete he didn’t have his wife on his back while he was tackling an opponent. She didn’t work up a skill, practice long hard hours, play in thousands of games to perfect that skill. Why should my ex get half? It’s not her talent. She’s just the wife.” Of course I disagreed with this, stating it was only right to receive some type of support since it was his lifestyle that created mine. It was his success that made US successful. It was me who stood by his side throughout this career so without me who would push him to keep going? I may not necessarily want half but I definitely need something to live comfortable.

What do you think?

I only bring this topic up because I recently read on Google News that Mel Gibson’s divorce was finalized and he had to give half of his fortune to his wife… some $400 million! That’s right, HALF. There was no prenup because they were married 26 years. I am sure she was there BEFORE he got famous and I forgot they share seven children.Now, I feel this is a little extreme, $400 million, but I do understand if she received this amount for giving input in writing films or helping with production, needless to say raising 7 children is beyond a full time J-O-B!

I still don’t know how I feel about it. I understand getting a pre-nup if you are wealthy and she is middle class and you want to get married but if you are like a Kobe Bryant who was young and didn’t know he would he a superstar like he is now, (who also didn’t have a prenup because he married for love) then he did the right thing.

When you marry, you marry for better or worse and till death, not until you blow up and before the money runs out let me go now so I can get half. Crazy world we live in. I’m rambling.

What are your thoughts on this?

10 Responses to “For Better Or Not…”

  1. poeticjourney December 25, 2011 at 10:19 pm #

    Good post, I could say a lot on this topic! She may have had them , but did she raise them is the question. I dont believe she should have got that much money, thats bn greedy!

    • princessnadielala December 27, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

      LOL I laughed when I read this because I forget who we are talking about at times. I don’t think I could allow someone else to raise my children. But you are so right!

  2. worrywarts-guide-to-weight-sex-and-marriage December 25, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

    I don’t think it can be generalized; it depends on the situation.

  3. Mike Azer December 26, 2011 at 3:21 am #

    Very nice post! It stirred up different thoughts in my brain. I feel it should be handled case by case, determined according to different variables like the their wealth, their debts, their standard of living, the number of children, whether the woman has a job or not …etc

    I actually came here after Sherline (http://nightshade130.wordpress.com/) nominated you for the 7×7 link award. You have a lovely blog 🙂

    • princessnadielala December 27, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

      Very true I agree, the debts, living, children are all things to consider. Thank you for stopping by I really appreciate it.

  4. simon7banks December 26, 2011 at 11:02 am #

    I suppose I am in favour of anyone who has 800 million in the bank (in saleable property, under the bed, whatever) giving up some of it, but it’s a pity it all has to go to one other person!

    • princessnadielala December 27, 2011 at 2:38 pm #

      Very true. It blows my mind to hear how much one’s net worth really is. Yet, there is no way you can have it all printed if they wanted to keep it under their beds.

  5. nightshade130 December 26, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

    I think that it has to be dealt on a case by case basis, however, I think that when children are involved, whichever spouse has custody definitely requires financial assistance to ensure that the children’s livelihood is well taken care of. If you have a shot-gun marriage like the Kim Kardashian one…is 50/50 really fair when the marriage had two unequally yoked individuals that obviously had different ideas of what they were getting into once they got married. This is just a poor example and yet it is an example. And then you have those that are married for so many years and decides to walk out of it….how can one assess financial support in these two extreme situations? It can only be dealt with circumstantially on a case by case basis. I agree with Mike’s comments. You brought a valuable thought to the table that bears a lot of consideration in terms of the sanctity of a real marriage. I agree with you in that it is a crazy world that we live in. It is sad that marriages don’t reflect God’s design.

    Ephesians 5:24-27 New King James Version (NKJV)
    24 Therefore, just as the church is subject to Christ, so let the wives be to their own husbands in everything.25 Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ also loved the church and gave Himself for her, 26 that He might sanctify and cleanse her with the washing of water by the word, 27 that He might present her to Himself a glorious church, not having spot or wrinkle or any such thing, but that she should be holy and without blemish.

    • princessnadielala December 27, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

      A verse that I read repeatedly. The bible is a great source yet it will guide anyone seeking guidance. Many people don’t get the for better or worse. Many people don’t see marriage counselors either before they marry. So what can we really expect? So many people want to be married but don’t understand the logistics or the principal/covenant behind it. Thanks for reading!!

  6. dollm December 29, 2011 at 2:00 am #

    I don’t know their situation but sometimes some successful men don’t want their wives to work because they are the provider. if that was the case and she agreed to stay a home and raise the children then that was her role the PARTNERSHIP. I believe that when you are married you are one unit sometimes both people bring in the money to the family unit and sometimes one. Just as only one person gave birth to the children but they both should have equal rights over them right? I think its fair she that she gets equal rights to half in this instance especially if she was there before the fame but she shouldn’t get any money after the divorce or benefit from any future money he receives. If they have young children then he can pay his share of their cost in upbringing but that’s it, If she were to be with him for 2 years and get half of everything then that would be totally different and wrong.

Comment

