Daniel Fast Day 1 Pt. 2

2 Jan

Yesterday was Day 1 at Sundown for The Daniel Fast. I realized that I didn’t explain what the Daniel Fast was to my followers. Here is what the Daniel Fast is:

Daniel Fast is a Biblically based partial fast based on two instances of Daniel’s fasting experiences

“Please test your servants for ten days, and let them give us vegetables to eat and water to drink.” Daniel 1:12

“In those days I, Daniel, was mourning three full weeks. I ate no pleasant food, no meat or wine came into my mouth, nor did I anoint myself at all, till three whole weeks were fulfilled.” [Daniel 10:1-2]

Based on the information that we glean from these references we understand that the Daniel Fast eating plan is vegan in nature, with additional restrictions.

In the first Scripture we see that Daniel ate only:

1. Only Fruits and Vegetables

2. And drank ONLY water

Which would also mean that he ate no processed, artificial, or chemically altered foods.

From the second Scripture we learn that Daniel’s diet did not allow:

3. Animal products

4. Pleasant/precious food, which would include all sweeteners, including honey, agave syrup, maples syrup, etc.

5. Alcohol

From studying Jewish history you will also learn that all fasts excluded

6. Any kind of leavened bread [anything made with yeast, baking powder, baking soda, etc.]

http://www.vega-licious.com/health-nutrition/daniel-fast-recipes-and-things-you-need-to-know/

 

Now that you know what the Daniel Fast is I will continue. Yesterday I had a hard time making the hummus so I decided to refrigerate what I have started and went upstairs. But, I actually was able to make some flat bread from www.Daniel-fast.com  with a hint of garlic added to it for my hummus. It is pretty tasty. I definitely suggest everyone to make their own bread all you need is wheat flour, olive oil, and water.

I also made lots of fruit snack bags with cherries, grapes, cantaloupes, watermelon, honey dew, and pineapples. I took a tip from the Disney Channel and made fruit kabobs with some grapes and cantaloupe. I hear that it makes you feel full because it is frozen, I will let you know how it is when I eat them! That was pretty much the rest of what I had to write. I will post some of the pics if I can figure out how to put more than one in a most lol.

Be blessed!

12 Responses to “Daniel Fast Day 1 Pt. 2”

  1. willowdot21 January 2, 2012 at 6:45 pm #

    Thank you for explaining I did look it up but thanks again. I wish you well, I understand now what the diet is and why you are doing it but what will you gain from it I am not being rude I honestly am interested is it just a statement of your faith . Anyway bless you and the Lord keep you safe.xx

    • princessnadielala January 2, 2012 at 7:21 pm #

      No problem I had you in mind willow when I posted that. You’re not being rude at all you’re being curious which is perfectly okay and normal! LOL. I was asked to fast with my sister for the new year to gain strength and clarity for our lives during 2012. However, once I looked more into what the Daniel Fast was really all about I grew excited because I knew that it was a perfect way to draw closer to God. Fasting is not a requirement when you belong to a church, it is a personal decision to draw closer to God. Fasting means you are giving up something to draw closer to God. Some people fast for a day, a week, or more. It is up to that person and what they feel is best for them. More than likely they have prayed on the situation and have decided to do xyz amount of time. I have decided to take on a vegan diet so naturally I will go through a few withdrawals from some of my favorite foods like Mexican and sugar free fruit snacks!!! But, that is when I will pray to God for strength and drive to keep me focused on why I am fasting in the first place. God will give me strength throughout the next few weeks through His word, The Bible, and through signs showing me that He is guiding me through this fast. Perfect example: last night I was dedicated to preparing for this fast and I blogged about it on my Day 1 Pt 1 fast post. I made flat bread that was on daniel-fast.com and believe it or not but the actual author of that website wrote a comment on that post this morning. That was the perfect sign to keep me ambitious because He is watching and He is proud. In the end I will gain a stronger bond with God and I will meditate on His Word The Bible every night, as I already do, but this time I will dig a little deeper inside of my soul because I know I am making a sacrifice. So, it’s not a diet it’s a fast. I was already on a diet prior to this, eating only 1200 calories a day, this is something completely greater than a diet. Sorry so long but I hope I was able to spell it out a little bit better for you to understand.

  2. nightshade130 January 2, 2012 at 6:55 pm #

    Thanks for sharing the sites. very helpful and I’m gonna spread the word. Gonna twitter this. ;D I’m going to be going to church this week every night since we are going to be talking about what we’re gonna focus on this year. Gonna have a worship explosion on Friday night too. I’m so excited by everyone who’s joining this 😀 Stay blessed girl. I love fruit kebabs by the way.

    • princessnadielala January 2, 2012 at 7:25 pm #

      Thanks girl so much! Yes there are so many recipes it makes you feel normal as if this is just a walk in the park without any struggle! That is awesome I know your church will be blessed during this journey! Fruit Kabobs who knew?? NOt me! LOL. Be blessed talk to you soon!

  3. worrywarts-guide-to-weight-sex-and-marriage January 2, 2012 at 7:07 pm #

    Thank you for explaining that – I thought maybe I should know and didn’t want to ask. Sounds very healthy.

    • princessnadielala January 2, 2012 at 7:26 pm #

      NO way I had no idea this existed until recently so you are perfectly fine! At least you can say you kept up with the saying, “You learn something new every day” 🙂

  4. poeticjourney January 2, 2012 at 8:57 pm #

    Can’t wait to read more from you and see how it goes while you on your Daniel Fast! I must say I’m learning a lot. God Bless 🙂

  5. simon7banks January 3, 2012 at 5:29 am #

    Seems like the only bit you’re not following is “I ate no pleasant food”!

    • princessnadielala January 3, 2012 at 9:24 am #

      I am following it just seems like I like most of the Daniel fast recipes that are out there smarty Simon

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Focusing on What’s Important – Clearing the Air in your Mind « Sherline's Watchu Thinkin' Blog - January 3, 2012

    […] you can utilize and experiment with in alignment with this Fast. Thanks again Nadie for your post “Daniel Fast Day 1 pt 2″. Very imformative and encouraging to know that there are more people interested in doing the Fast […]

  2. Resources for Daniel 10:1 - 2 - February 17, 2012

    […] 1Daniel Fast Day 1 Pt. 2 | Lil Lady… Giant Brain SUBMIT […]

Comment

