9 Apr

Okay…so I fell off the blog sphere for three short days….ahem I mean weeks and now I am back…for today. LOL. I have been keeping up with everyone’s blogs and I pray that everyone enjoyed their holiday weekend, if you’re one to celebrate!

I finally decided to take out chicken from my diet. I am not sure when this will happen or if I will just switch to organic chicken but I am pretty sure it’ll happen over the Summer months. I visited Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods for the first time over the last two weeks and I really enjoyed being there. However, I will never ever go there ever again during lunch time. It was a pure circus in Trader Joe’s and I was completely overwhelmed because everyone was in a major rush to find all of the fun salads, fruits, and veggies that made their tummies happy! I was able to find Pellegrino for a great price so I finally know where to buy it! So eating healthier is definitely on my top list of things to do every day!

The other day however I decided to try a Netflix trial and I began to watch “Food Inc.” This movie is relatively old but this was the first time I actually watched it. I’ve heard about it for many years now and never watched it but I am glad I did and I encourage everyone to watch this movie. It sickens me to know what goes on with all the meat that people eat. For almost a year now I have not eaten pork, lamb, or beef. I miss it but when I want those things I actually buy vegan. It is definitely not the same but it isn’t bad either. The way these farmers are told to process the food is horrible and it makes you think twice and then three times about what you are consuming. That’s what encouraged me to step into Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s. Although it is a bit more expensive to eat healthier I feel it is worth it.

There was a case where there was a young family who had one parent on diabetes medication that cost around $400 dollars per month and they were barely getting by. This family had to decide if the produce that was at the supermarket was “on sale” in order to even purchase it. Broccoli was so expensive to this family, $1.29 per pound back in 2006, imagine how this family is coping today. The parents decided that it was too expensive to purchase one pound of broccoli because that would only feed two of the four members and decided to go to the dollar menu instead. I was so saddened by this situation and disgusted with the way things are with this world today because everything is about money and no one cares about people any more. I know everyone is responsible for their own finances but when the cost of living in constantly increasing and wages aren’t people start to struggle.

School!!!!!!!!!!!!! Where does one begin? It is almost over! Three weeks left! I can’t wait! Notice all the exclamation marks? That displays my excitement!!! Although school is almost over I have to say I will actually miss learning about the women in history. This week we are learning about the women of the Great Depression which fueled my anger once again because I just watched “Food Inc” and gas rose like ten cents over night the other day. Then, I read an article stating another depression is less than 20 years away. That isn’t very encouraging at all. Millions of people lost their homes to foreclosure, savings accounts vanished over night, and various states closed banks, period. Without a place to live, without money to buy food and to think that there was absolutely no banking system in some states is a little crazy. My generation and the ones under me have to get to work like yesterday! We have to build up a greater nation. There is no way that this country has 300+ years under its belt and is about to repeat a depression cycle. That is sick! It is way too soon for America to repeat it’s most devastating financial crisis again. I know what some of my followers are thinking, especially the ones who do not live in the U.S.! You guys always remind me of how awesome my country really is! :0) But, seriously something has got to give and I mean soon!

Well that is all from me today folks! I have some homework to tend to and thanks for always being supportive!

Nadie La

nadiesblogemail@gmail.com

2 Responses to “”

  1. So happy you are back! I agree that we need to build a better world, and I’m beginning to think it starts with food (and the products we buy).

  2. Mai Ward April 12, 2012 at 3:53 am #

    I missed your posts!
    Since we were kids my mom used to tell us about how bad the foods we buy are; especially junk food, and that it’s causing all the deseases that are now so spread around the world and killing both old and young people. Of course back then I didn’t believe her. But she was right.

    Glad you’re back!

Comment